Mommy Going Crazy

May 30, 2006

Thank You Sunburn

Filed under: children,developmental delays,parenting — by mommygoingcrazy @ 1:00 pm

Last night I couldn't sleep because of my sunburn so I got out of bed, showered and took my book to the front room.  When I started reading J-boy came out of my bedroom (he most have snuck in there while I showered).  I let him watch cartoons because I knew he wouldn't go to back to bed right away.  During one of the commercials he came up to me and told me all about Kameron's birthday party (which was over a week ago)…

J: Kameron had birthday party

Me: Yes, he did.

J: He had cake, me didn't eat it cause I full.

Me: Really?:

J:  He like my present!

Me: That's great.

I have him a hug and he went back to watching Fairy Idol.  This is probably the longest conversation initiated by him that we have ever had. 

J-boy is speech delayed.  When he was almost 3 The husband and I decided that we were not going to wait until 3 to get him evaluated.  He could barely say two words together and we couldn't understand half of what he said.  Most of his words had no endings.  He was talking at about the level of an 18th month old

We took him to Mary Bridge Medical Center in Tacoma to have him evaluated.  He had a severe to moderate delay of speech.  Also, he had a huge gap between what he knew and what he could say.  We started weekly speech therapy sessions.  We then contacted Birth to 3 for Pierce county.  Again, he was evaluated and qualified.  I couldn't take him to group sessions because of having to drive First born to and from kindergarten, I didn't have a block of time so they sent out a therapist work with him.  I leared a lot about how to facilitate speech in everyday play. 

Soon after we got into contact with the school district to evaluate him for developmental preschool.  He did qualify for it.  So four days a week he went to preschool and started showing great progress.  When we moved to Texas he requalified and placed in an Early Childhood School where he goes 5 days a week.  In the last 6 months he has grown so much in his speech it is amazing.   He is four now and still has a ways to go but in the last 6 months he has improved exponentially.  Thank you sunburn for keeping me awake so I could have a wonderful conversation with my son.

*If you feel your child isn't developing as he/she should, talk to your pediatrician or contact your state's Birth to 3 program or school district if your child is 3 or older. Washigton State Birth to 3 and Preschool programs through school districts do not have a cost attached if your child qualifies.   All states should have programs and they are partialy federally funded so I imagine most states are free or charge a nominal fee on a sliding scale based on family size and income.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

