Mommy Going Crazy

July 8, 2006

Gender Typing

Filed under: baby,Gender Identity,parenting — by mommygoingcrazy @ 10:47 am

Today I was carrying Princess Girl and she saw the picture of J-boy on the wall and called him Baby Boy.  I tried explaining that no, that was J-boy but she wouldn’t have it, it was Baby Boy.  Later on I was downloading new born pictures of my girlfriend’s newborn baby girl.  Princess Girl started insisting that it was her.  I tried to explain who it was but she didn’t believe me.    

What I thought was interesting is that the boy baby was Baby Boy and the girl baby was Princess Girl. How did she know which was boy and which was a girl?  Princess Girl seems to have associated pink and flowers for girls and blue for boys.  I never have told her pink is for girls, blue is for boys but I never dressed her brothers in pink or flowers.  I know First Born has mentioned that pink is a girl color.  From these little cues she seems have picked up gender typing, at least when it comes to clothing.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

