Mommy Going Crazy

July 24, 2006

Of Dogs and Grasshoppers

Filed under: ages and stages,children,parenting — by mommygoingcrazy @ 12:10 pm

Last night First Born came into our bed around 1 in the morning.  It’s a common occurrence.  We let him sleep with us for a while, sometimes all night.  Last night he was really fidgety so I sent him back to his bed.  I was awake and couldn’t fall back asleep because a dog was barking. When the dog finally shut up a grasshopper/cicada started making a high pitched noise outside of the bedroom for a couple of hours. I think I had 4 hours of sleep last night.  I’m ready for a nap.

Another person in this house who really needed a nap was Princess girl.  She woke up screaming and pouting this morning. She wouldn’t listen at the park, she threw a tantrum on the way to Wal-Mart, kept standing up in the cart, wouldn’t put her shoes back on, basically making a nuisance out of herself.  This was all in the first two hours of the day.  So I informed Princess Girl (who might be renamed Little Madame if she doesn’t stop throwing tantrums) that when we got home she was off to her room for a nap.  That got a few screams but I turned up the radio and motored on home.  We got home and off to the room she went.  In less than 15 minutes the screaming stopped and she fell asleep.  I woke her up for lunch and guess what…. she was still a grumpy little wench girl.  So much for the nap helping.  I guess the dog and grasshoppers kept her awake last night too. 

All I can say is please don’t let the grumpiness be yet a new and exciting phase in my child’s development!  Now, where is my pillow…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

