Mommy Going Crazy

August 14, 2006

A Little Bump in the Line

Filed under: uncategorized — by mommygoingcrazy @ 5:29 pm

Today I took The Husand’s car to drop of J-boy at school.  The Husband was staying home because of his fingers.  While in the carpool drop off line J-boy unbuckled his seat belt and I had to yell remind him to stay buckled in because we could get in an accident.  Sure enough as I was ready to pull forward someone hit us.  No one was hurt so don’t panic.

I got out and noticed scratches so I said, let’s drop of the kids, park and then take a better look.  No problem so far.  So I dropped off J-boy and pulled out and parked in the bus drop off area.  I expected her to follow but like most people she didn’t follow the no left turn sign and turned left parking at the curb.  I’m like dude, you hit me get over here.  I didn’t think she heard me from half a block away so I started to drive to her but the she pulled in before I got far.

This is when it got good or hellish depending on one’s point of view. I showed her the damage and that it wouldn’t rub off.  This is what happened:

Me: We need to exchange information.

Lady: Are you sure I did the damage? 

Me:  Um, yeah.

Lady: The scratches on the my bumper are old. (she had huge scratches on the corner of her bumper)

Me: (pointing at her license plate) Your plate is bent and you can see the blue paint rubbed off.  It matches the blue scratches on my bumper. (I took a picture of her plates on my camera phone but thought I’d avoid liability and/or slander issues and not upload the picture.)

Simple right? But, no oh no it wasn’t that simple!  She called someone and talked in a foreign language so I’m not sure what was said.  After she hung up she said we needed to call the police.

My God.  I looked at her and said “What?  Are you kidding!?!”  She said no, call the police.  She was looking pissy so I wandered off muttering that this was ridiculous.  I was so embarrassed when I talked to 911 and apologized to the emergency operator for calling for such a small thing.  She was cool about it though.

I mean look at the ‘damage’ to my car, did we need the police????

Just a Little Paint

I wasn’t even going to file a claim because of what little damage there was. I just wanted to cover my backside in writing just in case she comes back saying she had whip lash or said I left the scene of an accident.

So while waiting for the police I called the school so they would know that a police officer would be pulling into their parking lot.  I get my information out and call The Husband.   He was going to come help me sort things out but when he dressed Baby Boy and put him in the car seat his finger started to bleed so I was all on my own.

The officer showed up and asked if anyone was hurt.  Nope.  OK, what happened?  I told him that we were in line, lady hit me.  Rude lady interrupted me saying I had hit the brakes (I rolled eyes and bit my tongue).  Officer told her to wait.  I then asked to tell him my version and then she could tell him.  He was incredulous when he found out that SHE wanted the police involved.  The officer and I walked away and I told him the story.  He then told me to wait.

He went to the lady and she told him the story but wait there is more.  She told the officer that I had said mean things to her.  WHAT!!! I took deep breathes.  I told the officer that I know he doesn’t care because it all happened on private property and he isn’t even supposed to be involved but I did NOT say anything mean to her, “just for the record”.  He nodded while I took deep cleansing breaths.  He than gave me total validation when he told me that he told Lady that it was obviously the license plate not the corner of her bumper that did the damage.

So with the help of friendly police officer we exchanged information.  He verified that it was valid and legible.  She had to rewrite her last name, hehe.  I apologized to him for the waste of time and left.

The Husband and I talked and figured it wasn’t really worth the work to get the car fixed.  So I fed Baby Boy and The Husband and went over to see Neighbor Mom and tell her my story. She agreed with me that the lady was a bit over the top.

The ironic thing is while I was gone the Lady’s insurance called.  They took full liability and we are taking  the car in Wednesday for an adjuster to look at it and cut a check.  I would be surprised if it was more than $50. 

So,  the whole accident, not exchanging information, police intervention, exchanging information took 45 mins.  The insurance adjuster is going to take about 30 mins plus drive time.  So the lady who wasn’t paying attention has managed to suck almost two hours from my life.  I’m not going  to take into account  how many times I will be retelling this story over the next 48 hours. 😉  

*edit publishing I had the car adjusted today and the repairs were a lot more then I thought. $240 and $25 for a rental.  Mostly in labor costs.  Who knew?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

