Mommy Going Crazy

September 17, 2006

A Soccer Star is Born

Filed under: parenting — by mommygoingcrazy @ 2:55 pm

 

First Born is now officially on a soccer team.  Their first practice was on Thursday and frankly it wasn’t pretty.  90% of the boys had never played and the coach had never coached.  We are the Bad News Bears of soccer.  We don’t even have proper uniforms yet.

What I really didn’t like was the coach’s son was a bit of um, a problem.  He would take First Born’s ball and throw it into the trash can and slapped First Born’s ball out of his hand.  First Born was upset because only one boy was nice to him.  I felt so bad.

Part of the problem is the coach really didn’t have control of the kids.  They did the drills but spent a lot of time rough housing and acting silly.  To top it all off First Born kicked someone’s ball from them. The coach saw him and told him off.  Well, ok, he gave him the make good choices speech.  I know it wasn’t nice but  why is it always my kiddos that get caught being naughty?  The coach didn’t see the last three kids kick First Born’s ball away.

Their first game was interesting.  The other team was older and seasoned.  They had been a team last year.  We lost 2-0.  Unfortunately First Born was the goal tender for the two goals.  Like a good mommy I captured the first goal on camera. 

-(

I was wondering why the coach would put First Born in the goal considering he never played soccer before in his life. First Born cleared it up for me, he asked to be goalie.  The next two periods he was a defender and a midfielder.  He happily sat out for the 4th quarter.  I know, soccer doesn’t have quarters.  However, at the U8 level they play 4  10 minutes quarters.

First Born did an awesome job as a defender and midfielder. 

Defense 2

The Husband stayed home with J-boy (he had an allergic reaction to Bunkie’s cats and was too puffy eyed to come outside) and Baby Boy.  Princess Girl came to the game with us.  She was bored but with the exception of poking my butt for attention she was good. At one point she decided to eat some YoGo’s off the grass while my back was turned.   She knew she did wrong because as soon as I saw her with them in her hand she dropped them.  She also climbed on a collapsible chair which did what it should and collapsed on her.  Then she climbed onto the benches and fell.  She got a nasty bruise on her arm.  She got a lot of pouting practice during the game.

I was away from the parents most of the game because I was taking pictures.  I come back at the end of the first quarter and Bunkie gets up and walks over to the bleacher and talks to a lady that was sitting there, I later found out she was the coaches wife.  I could hear Bunkie apologizing for something.  I’m thinking shit what did my mom do this time?   Bunkie is very passionate about her sports.  She is loud and obnoxious at times.  Think of your typical Football dad, mix in a soccer mom and you have Bunkie.  Basically the coach’s wife said something not pleasant after the goal went in and Bunkie started defending her grandson.  Coach’s wife wasn’t talking about First Born but about the other team.  However, Bunkie’s defending of First Born bothered the Coach’s wife because she thought she hurt Bunkie’s feeling.   Anyway, the Coach’s Wife is now First Born’s biggest fan and she now knows one mom on the team, me.

My goal this season for First Born is to have fun.  I hope they win at least one game but that would be icing on the cake.

I liked this picture.  I can’t tell if he’s intense or bored.  Let’s go for intense.

DSCF0761

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

