Mommy Going Crazy

September 25, 2006

I Put It Somewhere Safe…Really

Filed under: parenting — by mommygoingcrazy @ 9:28 am

 

It all started years ago.   I was about ten years old and I got $20 for something.  So, I put it away, safe, so my little brother and sister couldn’t get it.  Three years latter when we were moving out of state I found $20 tucked into an encyclopedia.  By then I didn’t even remember that I had put it there.  I am assuming it was me since the book was in my bedroom.

Fast forward to when I was 16.  I got a car for Christmas.  It was a 1979 Horizon.  I spent more on repairs then the value of the car but heck it was a car.  Anyway, I had issues with my car keys.  I lost them once, twice, three ok, every set I had.  One day before work I had gone through my last copy of car keys and had to call a key place to open the car and make me a key.  I did eventually find most of the keys.  This weekend my keys were missing again.  I had just told The Husband he needed to leave his keys for me.  Then as is was looking for the light bulbs that I had put up safe, I saw that my keys were hanging where they belong, go figure.

The Husband dreads hearing these words come out of my mouth “I put it somewhere safe”.  His response is “Oh, god” (must read with an English accent, much funnier) I do put stuff safe(ish) so the kiddos can’t find it.  Unfortunately I usually can’t find it either.  Most of the time the kiddos find where I hid something before I remember that I need it.  The other times, I have to search the house and all my hiding spots before I find it.

Right now we are missing the checkbook and Entertainment book.  I know where they are… somewhere safe.

1 Comment »

  1. I got a “clapper” for my keys many years ago. You clapped and then the keys chirped. The only problem was that it chirped at extremely inappropriate times- church, libraries, the middle of the night. My now husband tried to throw them off a bridge with my keys still attached. But hey, it was easy to find my keys. lol.

    Comment by imhelendt — September 25, 2006 @ 3:29 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

